The building, designed by Georg Schreck, was completed in 1901 for the Customs Office, hence the name Tullikamari (Customs Hall). The space was used as a customs administration hall for over 80 years. Bullet holes dating back to the 1918 Civil War can still be seen on the building’s gable end wall. Another reminder of days gone by is the in-house ghost, the mischievous Valtteri.
Today, Tullikamari is operated by Tampereen Kulttuurikamari Ltd. The building is owned by the City of Tampere, which designated the space to its current use in 1988. Since then, Tullikamari has been visited by many legends of live music; several international stars and the greatest Finnish artists have been able to experience Tampere’s best live atmosphere at the legendary Tullikamari. Tullikamari is one of the most revered live music venues in Finland, hosting almost 600 Finnish and international groups and artists from all music genres per year. A total of nearly a quarter of million guests visit Pakkahuone and Klubi yearly.